The Fawn (Paperback)

The Fawn By Magda Szabó, Len Rix (Translated by) Cover Image
By Magda Szabó, Len Rix (Translated by)
$17.95
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 17 4:50pm
(BOOKS IN TRANSLATION)

Description


From the author of The Door and Abigail and for fans of Elena Ferrante and Clarice Lispector, a newly translated novel about a theater star who is forced to reckon with her painful and tragic past.

In The Door, in Iza’s Ballad, and in Abigail, Magda Szabó describes the complex relationships between women of different ages and backgrounds with an astute and unsparing eye. Eszter, the narrator and protagonist of The Fawn, may well be Szabó’s most fascinating creation.

Eszter is an only child. She grows up in a provincial Hungarian town with her father, an eccentric aristocrat and steeply downwardly mobile flower breeder, and her mother, a harried music teacher failing to make ends meet, in the years before World War II. In postwar Communist Hungary, Eszter has moved to Budapest and become a star of the stage, but she has forgotten no slight and forgiven nobody, least of all her too kind and beautiful classmate Angela.

The Fawn unfolds as Eszter’s confession, filled with the rage of a lifetime and born, we come to sense, of irreversible regret. It is a tale of childhood, of the theater, of the collateral damage of the riven twentieth century, of hatred, and, in the end, a tragic tale of love.

About the Author


Magda Szabó (1917–2007) is considered one of Hungary's greatest novelists. Her novels, dramas, essays, and poetry have been published in forty-two countries and in 2003 she was awarded the Prix Femina étranger for The Door. The NYRB Classics edition of The Door was selected as one of the The New York Times 10 Best Books of 2015. NYRB Classics also publishes Szabó's novels Iza's Ballad, Katalin Street, and Abigail.

Len Rix is a poet, critic, and former literature professor. In 2006, he was awarded the Oxford-Weidendfeld Translation Prize for his translation of Magda Szabó's The Door.

Praise For…


“Szabó has created a character of defiant complexity and perverse, utterly plausible self-destructiveness. . . . Szabó’s psychological acuity, amply on display in her later novels, is thoroughly present here too.” —Claire Messud, Harper’s Magazine

“Len Rix, the translator of three other novels by Szabó (1917–2007), renders Eszter’s blunt, merciless narration in smoothly cold prose.” —Nick Holdstock, TLS

“This is a story of how a monster is made and of how successive disorienting, alienating crises in twentieth-century Hungarian history—and most of all the distorting crisis of poverty, the crisis of class inequality and class resentment—has made its monsters.” —Meghan Racklin, Asymptote 

"It is hard to choose among Magda Szabó's  novels which is the most powerful or most unforgettable, but The Fawn stands with The Door, not only because one cannot put it down but because it is a study of love found and betrayed and the personal tragedies that in Hungary were made so acute by World War II." —Donald Rayfield
Product Details
ISBN: 9781681377377
ISBN-10: 1681377373
Publisher: NYRB Classics
Publication Date: March 28th, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English