The Federalist Papers (Hardcover)

The Federalist Papers By Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, John Jay Cover Image
available for order


The Federalist Papers is a series of 85 essays written by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay under the pseudonym Publius, arguing for the ratification of the United States Constitution. The Federalist Papers were published serially from 1787 to 1788 in several newspapers, such as the "Independent Journal," the "New York Packets," and "The Daily Advertiser." Addressed to "The People of the State of New York," these essays detailed plans for a strong national government and are known as one of the most important political documents in the history of the United States.

Alexander Hamilton, the driving force behind The Federalist Papers, served as a captain during the War of Independence, was a member of the Constitutional Convention, and became the first Secretary of the Treasury. Hamilton wrote 51 of the 85 essays. James Madison, the fourth President of the United States, was known as the 'father' of the Constitution due to his influence while drawing up the Bill of Rights. During his time as the Secretary of State, he worked to abolish slavery and sought for peace. John Jay established law and diplomacy in the new nation as the first Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and shaped many of the Supreme Court procedures we still see today.

These three important figures argued, through The Federalist Papers, that the Articles of Confederation prevented the United States from becoming strong on its own. The Federalist Papers explained to the public key provisions of the new proposed Constitution, making it one of the first pieces of political philosophy in United States history.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781645940883
ISBN-10: 1645940888
Publisher: Suzeteo Enterprises
Publication Date: July 28th, 2020
Pages: 352
Language: English