Death on the Page: A Castle Bookshop Mystery (Hardcover)

Death on the Page: A Castle Bookshop Mystery By Essie Lang Cover Image
$26.99
Call for availibilty

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Castle Bookshop Mystery series.

Description


Essie Lang's second Castle Bookshop mystery is perfect for fans of Lorna Barrett and Vicki Delany.

Thousand Islands bookstore owner Shelby Cox sleuths the slaying of a true-crime writer who may have learned too much about a murder case that should have stayed shut.

There are a thousand stories in New York's scenic Thousand Islands, and Bayside Books co-owner Shelby Cox stocks them all. But lately, the Blye Island bookseller's life is more about investigation than inventory. True-crime writer Savannah Page caps off two successful signings at Bayside Books with a night in Blye Castle. She's there to research Joe Cabana, a colorful Prohibition-era mobster who owned the castle--until he was found dead in the island Grotto.

But crime becomes all too true for Savannah. Her body turns up the next morning, in a secret passage at the bottom of the stairs. The last thing Shelby Cox wants is to sleuth another murder, but she's intrigued about how a killer could have reached the island after hours. She's not at a lack for suspects either. It could have been anyone from Savannah's fiancé, Liam Kennelly, who argued with her the evening before, to island caretaker Matthew Kessler, recently cleared of his wife's murder. Can Shelby keep regular store hours, elude the police chief, and assemble the clues into a hard-bound case without getting permanently shelved?

About the Author


  • National print publicity
  • ARCs and e-ARCs
  • Bookspan direct mail/e-mail campaign reaching 1.2 million readers
  • Giveaway: Crooked Lane, Author, Mystery Community sites, blogs, and social media
  • Featured title on MysteryGuild.com, MG Facebook, CrookedLaneBooks.com, and Crooked Lane's Casebook newsletter
  • Promotion on author's social media and newsletters
  • Praise For…


    Praise for Death on the Page:
    "Charming characters and [a] beautiful Thousand Islands setting."
    Kirkus Reviews

    "Fans of Lorna Barrett's Booktown mysteries or Eva Gates' Lighthouse Library novels will enjoy this sprightly second in a series."
    Booklist

    "Death on the Page
    provides the reader with a satisfactory story."
    —New York Journal of Books

    "The setting is unique and the author is very descriptive...[A] very good cozy mystery."
    —MyShelf.com
     
    "Another fun mystery novel featuring Shelby and the bookstore and the castle...Here's to more adventures with the cast of characters in the small town setting."
    —Red Carpet Crash


    “Lang's style of writing opens the reader's imagination and you can see everything so clearly...I highly recommend this book.”
    Cozy Mystery Book Reviews

    “Another exquisitely crafted murder mystery by an author with a genuine flair for the genre.”
    Midwest Book Review

    “Charming, funny, and clever with an addicting mystery that pulls you in right from the beginning.”
    Manhattan Book Review
    Product Details
    ISBN: 9781643852942
    ISBN-10: 1643852949
    Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
    Publication Date: March 10th, 2020
    Pages: 336
    Language: English
    Series: A Castle Bookshop Mystery