Out of the Blue (Hardcover)

Out of the Blue By Jason June Cover Image
$17.99
available for order

Description


AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

From Jason June, author of the breakout teen debut novel Jay’s Gay Agenda, comes Out of the Blue, a stand-alone dual POV queer rom-com that asks if love is enough to change everything you’ve grown up believing. Perfect for fans of Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas and Deep Blue by Jennifer Donnelly. 

Crest is not excited to be on their Journey: the month-long sojourn on land all teen merfolk must undergo. The rules are simple: Help a human within one moon cycle and return to Pacifica to become an Elder—or fail and remain stuck on land forever. Crest is eager to get their Journey over and done with. Humans are disgusting. They’ve polluted the planet so much that there’s a floating island of trash that’s literally the size of a country.

In Los Angeles with a human body and a new name, Crest meets Sean, a human lifeguard whose boyfriend has recently dumped him. Crest agrees to help Sean make his ex jealous and win him back. But as the two spend more time together, and Crest’s perspective on humans begins to change, they’ll soon be torn between two worlds. And fake dating just might lead to real feelings . . .

This sophomore novel from Jason June dives into the many definitions of the word home and shows how love can help us find the truest versions of ourselves. 

About the Author


Jason June (it's a two-name first name, like Mary-Kate without the hyphen or the Olsen twin) is a best-selling author of young adult contemporary rom-coms that celebrate queer love and lust and chaotically gay shenanigans. His works include Jay’s Gay Agenda, Riley Weaver Needs a Date to the Gaybutante Ball, and the instant New York Times best-seller, Out of the Blue. When not writing, JJ zips about Dallas, Texas, with his husband and their Pomeranian, Pom Brokaw. JJ is a tried and true Laura Dern stan, and he is actively looking for an Andalite friend. Find out more about JJ and his books at www.heyjasonjune.com.

 

Praise For…


“OUT OF THE BLUE is a hilarious and heart-warming modern update of The Little Mermaid. Splashy, voicey, and prescient, this fish-out-of-water tale (pun intended) is the perfect rom-com to have in your beach bag this summer.”
Sarah Henning, author of the SEA WITCH duology

Out of the Blue is a sweet, sparkly story that'll make you smile so big your cheeks hurt! — Elise Bryant, author of Happily Ever Afters and One True Loves

Merfolk legends get a queer makeover. June’s approach to nonbinary gender as a central facet of merfolk culture, creates a fresh way to explore gender presentation and identity. An upbeat romantic fantasy with serious themes. — Kirkus Reviews

Jason June’s fast-paced sophomore novel will appeal to genre fans who didn’t fully understand Ariel’s decision to become human in The Little Mermaid. The world building around merfolk gender identity is both beautiful and deeply necessary for young readers. Fans of Jay’s Gay Agenda (2021) will connect with this sex-positive LGBTQIA+ merfolk story that is a delightfully fun summer read. — Booklist

Merperson Crest begrudgingly embarks on a rite of passage in June’s (Jay’s Gay Agenda) optimistic take on The Little Mermaid, a romance packed with subplots and classic rom-com tropes. June hilariously highlights the often messy realism of interpersonal relationships, and uses that realistic grounding to build toward a true-to-life—rather than picture-perfect—conclusion. — Publishers Weekly

Readers who are drawn to the whimsical premise will stay for its emotional truthfulness about the earth-shattering intensity of first, if not forever, love. — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063015203
ISBN-10: 006301520X
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: May 31st, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English