Odie Lindsey, "We Come to Our Senses: Stories"

Odie Lindsey, author of We Come to Our Senses: Stories, comes to The Regulator for a reading and booksigning. For readers of Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Redeployment, Lindsey has written a searing debut exploring the lives of veterans returning to their homes in the South.

After serving in Operation Desert Storm, Odie Lindsey did not mention his deployment for 12 years. When he watched a new generation of soldiers deploy to the same battlefield in 2003, his repressed memories and experiences came flooding back. Lindsey’s debut collection is the product of this reckoning. In 15 stories, the effects of war manifest on an intimate, everyday level—in obsessive behavior to be clean, in drug-fueled binges in Nashville honky-tonk bars, in predilections for reckless driving or compulsive sitcom watching. We Come to Our Senses highlights the struggles to reconcile the traditional war narrative with the senselessness of combat and the inability to readjust to life at home. The result is virtuosic in style and commanding in message.

“This is almost a novel in stories, thematically linked like Phil Klay’s Redeployment, but more particular in its examination of the new American veteran.” --New York Times Book Review

Odie Lindsey’s stories have appeared in Best American Short Stories, the Iowa Review, Columbia, and the anthology Forty Stories, among others. A veteran, he lives in Nashville, Tennessee.

 

 

Event date: 
07/26/2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
We Come to Our Senses: Stories Cover Image
$23.36
ISBN: 9780393249606
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - July 26th, 2016